Pacific Coast Council on Latin American Studies

The Hubert Herring Award

This award recognizes outstanding work on Latin America in each of the following categories: non-fiction book, article, Ph.D. dissertation, M.A. thesis, and non-print media (such as video, film, painting, etc.) The material must have been published between January 2009 and June 2011. Please note that no award will be given in a category with less than three submissions. Co-awards are also possible. Award certificates will be presented at the 2011 conference luncheon.


The author must reside or be based in the PCCLAS geographical area that consists of the Pacific Coast states and provinces of Canada, the United States and Mexico, but also includes Nevada and Arizona.


To be considered for the award, the author must be a member of PCCLAS. Click the Join! menu link to the left to become a PCCLAS member.


Entries should be sent to:

Herring Awards

Miriam Melton-Villanueva (Chair of the Awards Committee)

1224 W 26th Place

San Pedro, California 90731


Submission guidelines:

Mail one hard (paper) copy of submission by July 31, 2011.

Send questions or concerns to mmv.ucla@gmail.com